University of Melbourne now tobacco free

Smoke-Free Campuses Procedure


Smoking Cessation Support Programs




The University of Melbourne smoke-free campus policies promote a healthier environment to students, staff and visitors to our campuses.

As an internationally recognised leader in health research, education and training, the University is committed to matching its best practice education and research in this area with best practice policy. The University chose to implement its tobacco-free policy on 4 February 2014 to coincide with World Cancer Day.

The University has established support programs to assist those wishing to quit smoking and to further promote health and wellbeing for all staff and students.

The University prohibits smoking in all University vehicles and buildings. Where a University building is not located within the boundaries of a specified University campus, smoking is prohibited on the University land surrounding the building.

Under its smoke free policy, the University does not allow tobacco advertising, promotion or sponsorship and tenants in university-owned buildings can no longer sell any tobacco products. The University also does not allow direct investment in tobacco companies as part of its investment portfolio.